top of page
Writer's pictureKristina

The Best & Worst of Epcot's Festival of the Arts 2023!

Updated: Jan 17, 2023

If you're heading to Disney World anytime soon you should check out the Food and Art at Epcot's Festival of the Arts! Let me give you all the details of the best and worst food items I had at this years festival.

Let's start with some basic information about Epcot's Festival of the Arts, it runs form now through February 20th and is made up of 16 unique food booths, multiple art booths, live and sometimes interactive art exhibitions, and a Broadway concert series!

The first thing you want to grab as you enter the parks is your festival passport, it is your guide to all things Festival of the Arts! Now let's get to the most important part, THE FOOD!


The Worst

This Grape Smoothie can be found at Figment's Inspiration Station, a new booth to the Festival that is located in the Odyssey building just outside of the Mexico entrance to the world showcase. While this drink is super cute, that's the only compliment I can give it. Grape and Milk is not a great combination and I found this drink to be completely inedible. Topped with whipped cream and freeze dried skittles, these components do nothing to combat the nausea inducing flavor of the smoothie itself.


For $5.50 you might just want to buy it for the super cute plastic cup.






I feel a little guilty putting this Dulce Chocolate Mousse with chocolate crémeux and dark chocolate truffle on my worst list because this dish was sooo good last year. However, this year on opening day of the festival no less I could only describe this dish as tasting stale. Located at the Deco Delights booth at the front of the world showcase, the presentation is gorgeous and the portion size for only $5.25 seems like a great value but I found the flavor and texture lacking severely. If you have a sweet tooth I have some other desserts that are just as cute that I'd recommend instead.




The Grilled Cheese with Tomato Soup from the Pop's Eats food booth, located just outside of the entrance to the World Showcase on the Canada side. Putting this on my worst list made me die a little inside because you might be wondering how could anyone possibly mess up the easiest dish in the world, a grilled cheese? Well as a self appointed Grilled Cheese connoisseur let me tell you where they went wrong. Let's start with the $5.75 price tag for a half of a small grilled cheese. The ratio of cheese to bread was uneven and lacking in the cheese department. The soup was mediocre at best, and barely helped what was mostly crust.




The Best

The Deconstructed BLT located at the Deconstructed Dish at the front of the World Showcase. This dish is packed full of flavor and texture. The pork belly has just the right amount of crisp, just the right amount of fat. The egg is poached to perfection, and the onion jam is to die for. Literally every bite is packed with flavor, this returning dish has yet to disappoint. The portion size is well proportionate to the $7.00 price.









This Rainbow Cake from Figment's Inspiration Station. For the low price of $4.75 this cake gives you everything you could want for a Festival of the Arts dessert! It is bright, beautiful, and perfectly Instagramable! A basic vanilla cake with a fruity frosting, the cake is moist and very light. The frosting on top is flavorful and just the right amount of sweet. My only qualm was the freeze dried skittles whose crunchy texture was not my cup of tea.








This sipping chocolate flight from the Artist's table in the American Pavilion of the World Showcase. I honestly did not know what to expect by sipping chocolate, the best way I can describe this a drinkable fondue. I was shocked by how rich and flavorful each of these chocolates were. It comes with dark chocolate, milk chocolate, and white chocolate. I don't even like dark chocolate and it ended up being my favorite of the three, that's just how good these were. For $9.00 I was pleased with the portion size and the overall value.


The Best of the BEST

Of all the dishes I tried at this year's festival now let me tell you the best of the best, located at the L’Art de la Cuisine Francaise booth in the France Pavilion this Croissant à la Truffle Noir d’Hiver was to die for!

After waiting in line to get it for 15 minutes and then paying $9.50 for a croissant my initial thought was that there was no way this was worth the time or price. I have never enjoyed being so wrong.

Described as a black winter truffle croissant this pastry was PACKED with flavor. You could see all the layers of flaky black truffle throughout, and the filling was perfection. A perfect ratio of filling to croissant every bite was packed with flavor. The crust was crisp and flakey, the filling was smooth. All in all this was the best thing I ate at the festival!







7 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page